BAFTA Cymru Awards 2015

The British Academy of Film and Television Arts (BAFTA) in Wales, BAFTA Cymru, has announced the winners of this evening’s 24th annual British Academy Cymru Awards, honouring excellence in broadcasting and production within film and television in Wales.

The ceremony was hosted by Huw Stephens at St David’s Hall, Cardiff, where presenters included James Dean Bradfield (Manic Street Preachers), Lee Mead (Casualty), Craig Roberts (Being Human) and Russell T Davies (Doctor Who) – pictured below. 

During the ceremony there were performances from Amy Wadge and Only Men Aloud.

Set Fire to the Stars won three British Academy Cymru Awards, for Make Up and Hair (Andrea Dowdall-Goddard), Production Design (Edward Thomas) and Original Music (Gruff Rhys).

Jack to a King also won three, for Director Factual (Marc Evans), Sound (Bang Post Production) and Editing (John Richards).

A Poet in New York won two awards on the night, for Feature/Television Film (Griff Rhys Jones) and Special and Visual Effects (Bait Studios).

Da Vinci’s Demons also won two, for Costume Design (Trisha Biggar) and Photography and Lighting (Owen McPolin).

The award for Actor was presented to Richard Harrington for his portrayal of DCI Tom Matthias in internationally-acclaimed Y Gwyll/Hinterland, the Welsh language drama which also triumphed in the Titles and Graphic Identity category (Sarah Breese).

The award for Actress was presented to Rhian Morgan for her role as Gwen Lloyd in Gwaith/Cartref.

Y Streic a Fi won the Director Fiction (Ashley Way) and Television Drama categories and Tir won for Writer (Roger Williams).

In the factual programming categories, Single Documentary was won by Jamie Baulch: Looking for my Birth Mum and Factual Series was won by Adam Price a Streic y Glowyr, which also took home the Gwyn Alf Williams Award. Y Byd ar Bedwar won the Current Affairs award for the third year running and Rhod Gilbert won the Presenter award for RAF Fighter Pilot: Rhod Gilbert’s Work Experience.

This year’s Breakthrough award was presented to producer/director Clare Sturges for her documentary Sexwork, Love and Mr Right.

The Siân Phillips Award was presented to director Euros Lyn by his close friend and colleague, Russell T Davies.

The ceremony closed with the BAFTA for Outstanding Contribution to Television being presented to Menna Richards OBE, the Controller for BBC Cymru Wales from 2000 to 2011. The award was presented by the former BBC Head of Nations and Regions, Pat Loughrey.

Hannah Raybould, Director of BAFTA Cymru, said:

 “As BAFTA Cymru enters its 25th year of celebrating and promoting the creative media industry here in Wales, we have been heartened to see such a breadth of content and talent on show at the British Academy Cymru Awards this evening. The independent production sector has been well-represented once again with 13 vibrant companies from across the country winning awards, and we look forward to working with all our nominees and winners on upcoming BAFTA Cymru events around the country, encouraging and inspiring emerging Welsh talent to become part of this incredible industry”.

We discussed our time at the awards on the Gallifrey Stands Podcast in an extended edition of The Whovian Roundup news segment.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.