The Lost Eighties Doctor Who Stories Are Back!

Two infamously “lost” Doctor Who stories have been resurrected in all their beautifully-produced audio drama glory today, with the original cast returning to bring them back to life – thanks to Big Finish.

Two Doctors are literally time travelling today to feature in stories that were originally conceived for television but ultimately never made… until now!

Peter Davison and Colin Baker reprise their roles as the Fifth and Sixth Doctor respectively, as these 1980s Doctor Who adventures – Nightmare Country and The Ultimate Evil – finally materialise as full cast audio dramas.

Doctor Who: Nightmare Country was a story idea from Stephen Gallagher pitched for television in 1984. In the audio adaptation, the Fifth Doctor, Tegan (Janet Fielding) and Turlough (Mark Strickson) are reunited for what will be their first adventure together at Big Finish. It’s only taken us 20 years!

The Doctor wakes up on a planet of relics, a dead world, a hostile world…He has no memory of who he is, or how he got to be here. He’d better remember soon, because the very structure of reality is at risk and it all has something to do with that strange blue tomb with the light on top.

Producer David Richardson explained:

“Uncovering any lost story is like finding the Holy Grail, but there’s something really special about Nightmare Country because it’s written by Stephen Gallagher – someone whose work as an author and screenwriter we all admire. The chance to work with him on this was very special indeed, and what a lovely chap he is.”

Doctor Who: The Ultimate Evil was written originally for the 1986 television season by Wally K Daly. It was subsequently adapted into a novelisation and an audiobook for the RNIB but only now has it actually been performed by a full cast, including Nicola Bryant as Peri.

With the TARDIS working perfectly, the Doctor and Peri decide to take a holiday. But where? A long-forgotten piece of equipment in the TARDIS storage locker sends them to the peaceful and idyllic continent of Tranquela – home of the Doctor’s old friend Ravlos.

But the land where they emerge is far from peaceful. A hate ray is regularly sweeping Tranquela, turning its inhabitants into savage beasts, and there is only one place it can originate – the planet’s other continent, home of Tranquela’s old enemies, the Amelierans.

Or is that the only place? Because somewhere far above the planet events are watched by the slimy super-salesman, Mordant, who has his own unscrupulous plans…

Wally confirmed that he is:

“Thrilled that it is finally being made, albeit in another version. As the script had already been rewritten as a book it was a matter of picking and choosing between the two versions to begin with. Of course some of the action sequences had to be described for the audio version. But as a radio playwright this presented no problem to me, and John Dorney – the script editor – was also extremely helpful.”

Both of these exciting and legendary stories are released today on the Big Finish website.

Pre order Nightmare Country from Amazon now.

Pre order The Ultimate Evil from Amazon now.

One thought on “The Lost Eighties Doctor Who Stories Are Back!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.