The Final Sarah Jane Adventure Released Online

Former Doctor Who showrunner Russell T Davies, the man behind the revival in 2005 and subsequent spin offs Torchwood and The Sarah Jane Adventures, has released online a brand new conclusion to The Sarah Jane Adventures.

This final episode titled Farewell, Sarah Jane coincides with Elisabeth Sladen‘s death 9 years ago today (19th April).

Sladen was a regular cast member from 1973 to 1976, alongside both Jon Pertwee and Tom Baker, and reprised the role many times in subsequent decades, both on Doctor Who and its spin-offs, K-9 and Company and The Sarah Jane Adventures – which ran for five series until the death of Sladen. Filming for the second half of the fifth series, which was due to air in the autumn of 2011, was postponed and later cancelled.

Filming for three stories of the fifth series had been finished, and thus post-production on these stories was completed. The final series was aired from 3 to 18 October 2011 on CBBC and ended with a tribute to Sladen in the form of a video montage of scenes from the series and Doctor Who.

Davies announced this project on his twitter yesterday.

Since the COVID-19 lockdown both himself and Emily Cook have been instrumental in many Doctor Who related tweet-a-longs featuring the cast and crew sharing their thoughts and behind the scenes info as well as new stories being released including the Rose prequel and sequel to coincide with NuWho’s 15th anniversary.

Under the banner #DoctorWhoLockdown the aim is to bring fans around the world together during the current lockdown through their shared love of Doctor Who.

This release also coincides with another tweet-a-long.

Later this evening the latest #DoctorWhoLockdown event will be a rewatch of the final two episodes of Series Four The Stolen Earth and Journey’s End.

Fans around the world will simultaneously watch the episodes along with twitter commentary from Russell T Davies, David Tennant, Catherine Tate, Freema Agyeman, John Barrowman and director Grahame Harper.

These episodes were written by Russell T Davies and is a two-part crossover story with spin-offs The Sarah Jane Adventures and Torchwood – heavily featuring Sladen.

Check out our other Doctor Who content.

Order The Sarah Jane Adventures: The Complete Collection Series 1-5 from Amazon now.

Order Doctor Who – Series 4 from Amazon now.

3 thoughts on “The Final Sarah Jane Adventure Released Online

Leave a Reply to Overly Devoted Archivist Cancel reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.