Winners announced: 2021 British Academy Cymru Awards

The British Academy of Film and Television Arts (BAFTA) in Wales, BAFTA Cymru, has announced the winners of the 30th British Academy Cymru Awards. The awards honour excellence in broadcasting and production within film and television in Wales and by the Welsh in UK productions, and serve to inspire the next generation of creative talent.

The 30th BAFTA Cymru Awards was hosted by Alex Jones, with 22 awards being presented throughout the evening. The ceremony was broadcast on BAFTA’s Facebook, Twitter and YouTube channels and is available to watch here.

Gangs of London received four awards, for Matt Flannery (Photography and Lighting: Fiction) with his first BAFTA Cymru win, Sara Jones (Editing), Tom Pearce (Production Design) and Sound Team (Sound).

It’s A Sin received two awards, with Actor going to first-time winner Callum Scott Howells and Writer to Russell T Davies.

Rhod Gilbert received the Presenter award for Rhod Gilbert’s Work Experience, which also won for Factual Series. The Pembrokeshire Murders collected the award for Television Drama and for which Marc Evans won Director: Fiction, making it the 8th win of his career.

Morfydd Clark won her first BAFTA Cymru award for Actress for her performance in Saint Maud. Director: Factual was presented to first-time nominee Liana Stewart for Black & Welsh.

The winner of this year’s Breakthrough award is Michael Kendrick Williams for his role as producer on Britannia’s Burning: Fire on the Bridge / Britannia: Tân ar y Bont.

Strictly Amy: Crohn’s and Me won the award for Single Documentary. Photography: Factual was presented to the Camera Team for Critical: Coronavirus in Intensive Care. Pawb a’i Farn – Black Lives Matter won the award for News and Current Affairs.

The Make-up and Hair award was won by Claire Pritchard-Jones for Roald & Beatrix: The Tail of the Curious Mouse. Caroline McCall won Costume for her work on His Dark Materials.

Children’s Programme was awarded to Deian a Loli for the third time; Entertainment Programme was won by Dolig Ysgol Ni: Maesincla; and the Short Film category was won by The Welshman. Feature/Television Film was awarded to Eternal Beauty.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.